Networks and Alliances

The University of Copenhagen participates in a number of international networks and alliances where we collaborate with key partner institutions, benchmark, share knowledge and gain influence on education and research policies. UCPH is a member of:


International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU) is an alliance of 11 of the world’s leading research universities. The main objective of IARU is to give researchers and students at the involved universities the opportunity to engage in international research and research-based teaching.

Together with the University of Copenhagen these universities are members of IARU:

  • Australian National University
  • ETH Zürich
  • National University of Singapore
  • Peking University
  • The University of Tokyo
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Oxford
  • Yale University

For specific questions regarding the IARU courses at UCPH please contact


The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is an alliance of 23 research-intensive universities with common viewpoints on higher education and research policy. It acts as a powerful advocate for Europe's research-intensive universities, speaking up on many issues related to research, innovation and education policies such as ERA, Horizon 2020, Open Science, Erasmus+, etc.

The University of Copenhagen officially joined LERU on 1 January 2017.


The University of Copenhagen is a member of the 4EU+ alliance. The alliance consists of six universities. The other members are the universities in Heidelberg, Milan and Warsaw as well as the Sorbonne in Paris and Charles University in Prague.

4EU+ was founded in March 2017 and initially consisted of Charles University (Czech Republic), Heidelberg University (Germany), Sorbonne University (France) and University of Warsaw (Poland). The University of Copenhagen and University of Milan were invited to join and admitted in the autumn of 2018.

Read about 4EU+ here.


Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe (UNICA) is a network of 46 universities from 35 capital cities of Europe. Its role is to promote academic excellence, integration and cooperation between member universities throughout Europe.

To achieve its aims, UNICA carries out member-driven activities, the content, format, and frequency of which depend substantially on UNICA Member Universities’ engagement and interest.

To learn more about UNICA at UCPH, please contact Sara Dinesen.


The Erasmus+ Programme is an umbrella term encompassing all the European Commission’s actions within higher education, adult education, young people etc. The Programme, which runs in the period 2014-2020, consists of three Key Actions: 1) Mobility of Individuals; 2) Cooperation for innovation and the exchange of good practices; and 3) Support for policy reform.  

Besides engaging in student and staff exchange inside and outside of Europe, University of Copenhagen is an active participant in key elements of the programme such as Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees, Capacity Building and Strategic Partnerships.

To learn more about Erasmus+ at UCPH please contact Kathrine Bruun Funch.


Nordplus is an educational programme offered by the Nordic Council of Ministers. The aim of Nordplus is to promote Nordic languages and culture, as well as mutual Nordic-Baltic linguistic and cultural understanding within the Nordic and Baltic states as well as Åland, the Faroe Islands and Greenland.

In Nordplus Higher Education, cooperation on student mobility is organized in academic networks. Nordplus networks make collaborative applications for funding from Nordic Council of Ministers to support the activities within their network.

University of Copenhagen participates in 24 Nordplus networks representing a broad range of academic fields, which are all coordinated at department or faculty level.

For more information about UCPH's participation in Nordplus please contact Søren Jensen.


University of the Arctic (UArctic) is a network of universities, colleges,
research institutes and other organisations concerned with education and research in and about the North.

Within the UArctic framework has been established a scholarship programme, North2North, in order to support mobility amongst students and researchers between the participating institutions.

To learn more about UArctic and North2North, please contact Alexandra Osorio Brito